Wish I Had Known This Before – *Sulk and *Tear

I am angry. I AM SO VERY MAD AT MYSELF! I spend a bloody 2 years working on Women’s Digital League only to find out very recently that in order to apply fro any business plan competition I MUST present a paper-trail for my financial transactions. Western Union receipts kept in shoebox would work. I of course didn’t know this. Just jumped right into the action. HOW DUMB CAN A PERSON GET??? UGH!

To be fair to myself, I never thought my stint at content writing would become a business. I have never claimed to be a business expert. I am not! I am a simple woman with a third class master’s degree in English Literature and a morbid fear of numbers. All I have is the drive to try new things. Shying away from challenges is unknown to me. Elvis may cry himself hoarse saying Only Fools Rush In but it won’t work on me. BUT WHAT THE HELL! Have lost out on 2 WONDERFUL opportunities in less than a month. First was the Arabia Fast Growth 500 and now it’s the Women In Business challenge. Then there is the All Asia Business Plan Competition that I don’t even want to look at. I am heartbroken and so disappointed.

Learn from my experience, Dudettes. If you are working on a business, please keep a record of your financial transactions. Also, TRUST ME and work on a business plan. Don’t worry if you don’t know how to write one. There are so many templates available online that you can use. If you still have a problem finding one drop me a note and I’ll send you a couple. You don’t want to miss out on these great opportunities to highlight your business and gain investors as well as clients. I am gonna go and sulk and hope this horrible period of stagnation will be over soon. Ever since the stress-induced shingles and chest infection and ulcer episodes soon after I came back from the US and jumped right into my work without taking any break, I have hot a complete wall. Annoying thing is it’s not for a lack of energy but a lack of interest. I need to get out of this phase soon or else I won’t be able to live with myself.

Byeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

P.S. Also try for the Women 2.0 Startup Pitch Competition – deadline is 7th December but their application form is quite easy to fill out.

7 thoughts on “Wish I Had Known This Before – *Sulk and *Tear

  1. Oh my god, are you SERIOUS?! That sucks!! Isnt there a way you can track your transactions? I’m assuming if they went through your bank, every record should be there no? But then how do you know which payment was for what… Sorry thinking aloud here. I’m a complete noob at numbers too.
    *hug*
    hope you bounce back soon.

    • My personal and business accounts are the same. Can’t tell what went where. Plus, I use other modes of payments like Western Union and PayPal. Hope other businesspeople can benefit from this at least.

    • Really? You have a degree in finance? Are you a dudette? I hate South Asian dudes. They only offer help in the hope of having a ‘good time’. Do you want to work as a volunteer? *sheepish … perhaps set a system in place that I can follow?

      Plus, french fries and kheer? My friend likes mixing up seekh kebab and kheer, so why not!

Leave a Reply

