Oh No Steve Jobs

5 AM and I lazily look at my iPhone to check what my Facebook friends are up to. Everything is a bit hazy as I look through half open eyes at the screen. Wait, something’s not right! Steve Jobs … OH NO … DEAR GOD NO NO NO! This can’t be. Jobs can’t be dead. He was on the list of people I wanted to meet before I died. At last, at 56 he succumbed to pancreatic cancer that he had been fighting since 2004. The Apple Board of Directors issued a statement about his death, saying:

The Apple Board of Directors wrote:

We are deeply saddened to announce that Steve Jobs passed away today.

Steve’s brilliance, passion and energy were the source of countless innovations that enrich and improve all of our lives. The world is immeasurably better because of Steve.

His greatest love was for his wife, Laurene, and his family. Our hearts go out to them and to all who were touched by his extraordinary gifts.

Twitter is abuzz with people expressing their shock and dismay at the news.

@BillGates tweeted: For those of us lucky enough to get to work with Steve, it’s been an insanely great honor. I will miss Steve immensely.

@TheRockstarCEO writes: At restaurant in NYC, Steve Jobs death announced, people literally crying.

Robert Scoble, a well-known name in the blogging world, is posting live photos and updates from the Apple HQ at Google+. I don’t know if I have the heart to follow, but some of you may want to have a look to stay updated on what’s happening.Below is a photo from his live stream.

Flags half staff at Apple headquarters.

As I sit here in front of my laptop my mind keeps wandering to his famous quote:

Being the richest man in the cemetery doesn’t matter to me … Going to bed at night saying we’ve done something wonderful… that’s what matters to me.

Rest in Peace, Jobs. You have been an inspiration to millions of us.

Leave a Reply

